South OC WMA Executive Committee

The County, cities, and water/special districts located within the Orange County and San Diego Regional Water Board boundaries have been meeting since 2003 in an effort to work together on water resource issues and maximize the amount of funding available to the region through Federal, state and local sources. Since that time the group has been successful at securing a $25 million Proposition 50 grant, a $500,000 Proposition 84 planning grant, and have a $2.5 million Proposition 84 implementation grant pending.

In December 2010, the following parties signed the South Orange County Watershed Management Area Cooperative Agreement: County of Orange, Aliso Viejo, Dana Point, Laguna Beach, Laguna Hills, Laguna Niguel, Laguna Woods, Lake Forest, Mission Viejo, Rancho Santa Margarita, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano, El Toro Water District, Irvine Ranch Water District, Moulton Niguel Water District, Municipal Water District of Orange County, Santa Margarita Water District, South Coast Water District, South Orange County Wastewater Authority, and Trabuco Canyon Water District.

In April 2011, the South Orange County Watershed Management Area Executive Committee held its inaugural meeting. Members of the Executive Committee are elected, appointed, or executive level managers, with one member from each of the signatories to the agreement (the County member, however, represents both the County and the Orange County Flood Control District). It typically meets at least two times a year and meetings are governed by the Brown Act. Staff support is provided by the OC Public Works/OC Watersheds. The Executive Committee provides strategic direction for environmental enhancement programs in the watershed, advocacy of these programs to the elected/appointed boards of the member organizations, and a forum for discussion of watershed environmental issues.

WMA At Large Membership Application - Management Committee

The Executive Committee is currently recruiting for an At Large Member to serve on its Management Committee for a one year term, beginning July 1, 2015. The Management Committee carries out the work directed by the Executive Committee and comprises senior staff members of the following organizations: County of Orange; cities of Aliso Viejo, Dana Point, Laguna Beach, Laguna Hills, Laguna Niguel, Laguna Woods, Lake Forest, Mission Viejo, Rancho Santa Margarita, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano; El Toro Water District; Irvine Ranch Water District; Moulton Niguel Water District; Municipal Water District of Orange County; Santa Margarita Water District; South Orange County Wastewater Authority; Trabuco Canyon Water District and an At Large Member.


Any Orange County citizen 18 years or older may apply to serve as an At Large Member on the Management Committee. Potential candidates will be reviewed on the basis of the following criteria: 

  • Commitment and ability to participate in up to twelve Management Committee meetings per year. Attendance at quarterly public Executive Committee meetings is recommended, but not required. Please note that both meetings take place during regular business hours.
  • Demonstrated interest and history of collaboration with multiple entities with special emphasis on watershed-related activities.
  • Lack of conflict of interest.

Interested applicants can submit the application form via email to Jenna Voss Please contact Ms. Voss with any questions you may have regarding the application or selection process.

Next Executive Committee meeting date:

Date: June 4, 2015 Time: 2:30 - 4:30 pm
Location: City of Laguna Niguel Council Chambers, 30111 Crown Valley Parkway, Laguna Niguel, CA 92677
Public Comments: Speaker Request Form

If there are any questions regarding the details of a document, or to obtain a hard copy or other alternative formats of the original document, or to have a document read to you, please contact the OC Public Works offices:

2301 N. Glassell St., Orange, CA, 92865 Monday through Friday, 8:00 am to 5:00 pm PST, by email at OC Watersheds, or by phone at (714) 955-0600.

2015 Meeting Documents

2014 Meeting Documents

If you are looking for Agendas or presentations from previous years please use this link.